How to Get Your Colorado MED Badge

Are you thinking about a career in the Colorado cannabis industry? Maybe you're thinking about becoming a weed delivery driver. If so, you'll need to apply for a Colorado MED badge. In four easy steps, you'll be on your way to obtaining a MED badge and finding work in this flourishing cannabis industry!

First Step: Check Your Eligibility

Make sure you're qualified to apply for a MED Employee License. First, you need to live in Colorado with a valid state ID. You also need to meet the following requirements:

  • Must be at least 21 years old
  • You're not a licensed physician making patient recommendations
  • You have not served a felony in the last three years
  • You are not the spouse or child living in the house with any MED employee
  • You have never had your authority to act as a primary caregiver revoked by the state
  • You are not a police officer, sheriff, deputy sheriff, or prosecuting officer
  • You are not an officer or employee of the marijuana state licensing authority or a local licensing authority

Second Step: Complete and Sign Application

Next, you'll need to fill out some paperwork. Set aside some time to complete, sign, and double-check the application.

You can find the application here.

Be sure to check the fine print, and spend some time reading the entire application to make sure you're fully eligible to obtain a MED License before you commit to filling it out.

Third Step: Make an Appointment at a MED Office

After you complete your application, schedule an appointment at the nearest MED office. Offices can be found in Lakewood, Colorado Springs, Longmont, and Grand Junction.

Fourth Step: Bring Your Application and Fee Payment to Your Appointment

Don't forget to bring your completed application and payment for the $100 fee to your appointment. You can make a payment with cash, check, or money order depending on the location.

At the Lakewood office, exact cash, check, money order, or credit card are all accepted. The other locations accept checks or money orders made payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue.

At your appointment, you'll have your photo and fingerprints taken for state records after submitting all of your documents.

Once all of your documents are submitted, fees are paid, and the state completes a background check, you're good to go. You'll receive your badge directly by mail when you pass.

That's it! Easy and 1, 2, 3...4! Once you have your MED badge, you'll be on your way to working in the best industries in the world!

Related Articles